A Much Needed Vacation

   School can get very stressful with homework, tests, and especially grades. Its proven that giving the mind a break from school can help one come back more focused and ready to learn. What is a better break from school than a five day ski trip to Breckenridge, Colorado with your cousins from Ohio.

  The evening before the trip was very stressful. I had a lot of work to do before I could alleviate all my stress from school and focus on having a fun and relaxing trip. After school I had volleyball practice for two hours which took up a lot of time I needed for packing and homework. After volleyball I had a lot of extra homework I needed to do for the days I would be gone on vacation. On top of that I had to pack all my stuff and get to bed at a decent hour, knowing I would be traveling all day. I ended up getting all my homework and packing done and got to bed at ten o’clock.

  The next day I woke up at seven o’clock and got straight on the road to LAX. When I arrived, we checked are bags in, went through security, and made our way to our gate. After the plane arrived I boarded and took my seat in the back end of the plane. I put my headphones in and turned on my movie, Interstellar, and sat back in my seat. After a short one and a half hour plane ride we arrived in Denver, Colorado. We gathered our bags, got our rental car, and drove another hour and a half to Breckenridge, Colorado. The drive up felt very long because the excitement began building up inside of me. As we drove higher and higher up the mountain you could feel the air getting thinner, and it became harder to breathe. It snowed the whole way up which was very cool since we don’t get to see snow in Santa Barbara, California.

  We finally arrived at out house in Breckenridge, Colorado and anxiously waited for our cousins to get there. When they arrived we greeted them at the door with big hugs and talked for a while. After talking for a while we all went to bed knowing we were going to have a long day on the slopes. I took a shower, hopped into bed, and fell asleep.

  When I woke up I felt a rush of excitement knowing that I was going to learn how to snowboard. I got up quickly, ate breakfast, got my gear on, and got in the car. After a ten minute drive that felt like forever, we arrived at the parking lot. I got my board out of the car and walked over to the gondola to get my lift tickets. The line was long, so I let my parents wait in it and I played on my phone. They came back after ten minutes with lift tickets and I could already feel the excitement rushing through my body.

  img_4402

We got on the gondola after getting our tickets. The gondola took us up to the mountain from the parking lot. When we arrived at the mountain, we walked over to the beginner hill so me and my sister could learn. My dad helped me put on my binding and we got on the lift. As we were going up I knew I was going to fall when we got off, and that made me nervous. When the time came for me to get off I put my back foot on the board and jumped off the life. When hit the ground I fell over and when I popped my head up the lift hit me in the back of the head. It was really funny and embarrassing, but it didn’t hurt since I had a helmet on. After finally getting of the life I got on my other binding and sat there for a minute and took a look at the mountain. I felt ready and having my dad, mom, sister, and cousins by my side.

  363d8985-decb-4c5d-8766-eda8c5bfae90

   My dad went first and showed me the basics on the mountain. I stood up and began to go down and realized how much harder it was than I thought it would be. I could not stop, so I fell to my butt and slid down. After some trial and error I finally figured out how turn and slow down. After a couple more runs on the beginner hill I finally got it and it felt amazing. Later that day my cousins took me up to a black diamond run which is a lot steeper that what I was used to. When I got up to the top it looked scary, but when I started heading down the mountain it was not hard. I carved down the whole mountain and didn’t fall once. It was a great feeling knowing it was my first day and I was already doing an advanced hill. After an amazing day of snowboarding we returned to our house.

165e323c-e336-48af-a7cb-24a60bf0449a  

 The second day was amazing since it snowed all day. I had to buy some goggles at the snowboard store because it was so hard to see. We snowboarded all day on some great intermediate runs with a lot of fresh snow. After we got back home, I was so sore and tired that I fell asleep after dinner. It was a great day.

  On my last day I felt more confident in myself since I knew that I could do black diamonds. My cousins had a lot of faith in me and new that I could do some bigger runs than I was used too. They took me on the Colorado Super Chair which takes you all the way up to the top of the mountain. After a long ten minute chairlift ride we arrived at the top of the mountain. When I looked at the sign I realized that all the runs down were double black diamonds. This made me feel uncomfortable since I had only been snowboarding for three days. After some second thoughts I realized that I was already up here and the only way down was too snowboard. I put on my boot and went. I carved down the whole mountain and didn’t fall once. It was great to know that I had been snowboarding for three days and already did a did a double black diamond.

11d755fc-5397-4c96-bced-53433142ff46

    It was a great trip for me because it gave my mind a break from school and allowed me to relax. When I arrived back at school I felt refreshed and ready to learn. A little break from school once in awhile won’t do any harm, but will only help one. Make sure to do something you love on your break.

 

Leave a Reply

